Again, I post the words of my sister’s son-in-law, Tim Moffett. The poignant thought that follows results from the penetrating innocence of a child’s question and her  dad’s contemplation of the answer to that question–but more importantly, in this case, what seems really important is the ability not to simply give the right answer, but to live the right answer.

ma012jesus-and-children-posters.jpg“If a person wants to love Jesus, will they?”

That is the question my eight year old daughter asked me 20 seconds before I dropped her off at school one day this week. In a very limited time, I made some effort to answer the question. I don’t know how much more thought she gave to my answer, but her question has stuck with me.

“If a person wants to love Jesus, will they?”

What I hear is the question, “Is a Godly life doable, or is it a set up for failure?” I recognized that childlike faith and simplicity that Jesus described as critical to spiritual vitality. I heard a deep desire to get it right. “Oh that I may have that same urge in my life,” I thought.

To be honest, I don’t remember what my answer was. I remember it wasn’t nearly as good as the question. I hope she heard that the answer was “yes”. God always gives great weight to the content of our desires. For instance He says,
“Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of
your heart.” Psalms 37:4 NIV

“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for
they shall be filled.” Matthew 5:6 NIV

If you want to love Jesus there will be no stumbling blocks to deny you. His arms will reach out for you. There is no trick or trapdoor.

However, we must make sure we know what it means to “want”. It must be a desire that leads to action, not a thought that leads to a daydream. Regardless of what words I may speak, a cursory glance of my life will reveal the things that I truly want. They are the things I have made a priority. I “want” them more than I “want” other things. If I want to love Jesus, it will show up in every part of my life.

“If a person wants to love Jesus, will they?” May your desire for Jesus grow this week.

–Tim Moffett

