snow-melt.jpgSince I’m bound for Kalamazoo, Michigan later this week, I started checking the next-weekend weather forecast’s for that part of the world.   They’ve had some frightful winter weather lately with considerable heaps of snow accumulation.  Since snow is such a rarity along the Gulf Coast, the prospect of seeing snow is exciting. 

Yesterday at church, in fact, I visited with a fellow from Ohio visiting family here in Louisiana.  He told me the drifts they’ve hauled off of streets and roads lately is piled as high as the light standards around the perimeters of the parking lots. 

Gosh.  That sounds like more snow than I’ve seen in my life. 

So I was getting excited about seeing snow, and lots of it.  But then this morning, I saw a graphic on the Weather Channel warning about river and stream flooding from snow melt later this week across central and southern Michigan and northern Illinois as temperatures warm into the balmy forties and fifties in the region.   Since the Kalamazoo River runs right through Kalamazoo, a few blocks from the hotel where I’ll be holed up, I am wondering what this warning means.   Will the drifts of snow be gone?  Will the spectacular heaps be reduced to puddles and dingy mounds of encrusted ice sitting in slushy mud in shadowy places where the sun never penetrates?   And, if there’s all this flooding, should I bring rubber boots?  hip waders?  A pirogue with paddle, perhaps?   

Gosh, I just don’t know what to expect.  One way or the other, the experience is likely to be rare in my sum total of  experiences.  Perhaps more on this potentially fruitful subject later . . .

