Le pont a travers Bayou Plaquemine Brule

Le pont a travers Bayou Plaquemine Brule

I enjoy my visits to tiny Midland High School in southern Acadia Parish, Louisiana, because I travel 28 miles of country backroads across flat Cajun prairie. Most of the scenery consists of rice fields, “gold unto harvest” this time of year, and the farm houses and barns and other attachments associated with the agricultural preoccupation of the region.

But the top highlight of the trip is this crossing of Bayou Plaquemine Brule just north of the Estherwood community on Highway 91. The single-lane pontoon bridge reminds me of structures crossing murky bayous in the southeast Louisiana wetlands where we fished and crabbed when I was a kid. The crossing really isn’t scary, but I always feel a tinge of adventure as the bridge literally dips down from the bank-level approach to the water-level floating section. The 5 mph speed limit is well advised!

