I did not graduate from Eunice High School, but my wife and my two kids did. So this weekend’s Alumni Co-ed Softball Tourney, a fundraiser for the school and a significant community event that draws thousands, was a major happening among the Pullings of Eunice and Crowley. In fact, twice on Saturday, I stationed myself in the no-man’s land between two different fields at the Eunice Recreational Complex where one or the other of my kids’ team was playing on one field at the same time as their mother’s team was playing on another.

Check the photo here as “Mom” Sarah swats a soft liner in the Saturday afternoon game.

I was struck, more than once today, at how rich is the feeling of watching my kids as adults play ball with the same kids (now adults, too) that they played with not only in high school, but in all the years of the community recreational leagues. Gosh, we are all moving on! (Some at a faster pace than others, or so it seems?).

But the most fun, of course, was showing off granddaughter Payton. Payton made appearances Friday and Saturday nights, and all of Zach’s Class of 2000 teammates as well as Sarah’s Class of 1975 teammates blessed us with showers of “Chere” and “Chere bebe.”

The English tongue has no idiomatic match for “chere.” What a precious word!

