The cone of uncertainty is 500 miles wide, but Louisiana’s smack in the  middle.  Woe is us, two days from the anniversary of Katrina three years ago.

We don’t know what’s going to happen: statistically, “nothing bad” is more likely than “something bad,” if we narrow the location of “something bad” to the street in front of our respective houses.  But like the Governor said in his press conference today, “We’ll hope for the best and prepare for the worst.”  Many of us have seen that “something bad” visit our neighborhoods in a hurricane, so we really know it’s possible.

Also, my family is scattered at 150-200 mile outposts along the northern coast from Southeast Louisiana to Southeast Texas, so even if I breath a sigh of relief for me and my house when the storm turns away to the right or the left, my relief may well come at the expense of  a family member who’s house is not as fortuitously situated.

Hence, the nerve game . . .

So I see and hear a lot of “preparing for the worst” going on around me.  We even had an Academic Council meeting at work (LSUE) this afternoon to rehearse what would happen if/when we’re called on to implement our emergency plan in the next few days.  And folks at the flagship “Big” LSU are even wondering how LSU could play their season opener Saturday night in Baton Rouge if a mandatory contraflow evacuation is ordered on I-10 coming out of New Orleans Saturday afternoon.   Now Gustav is messing with that which is hallowed!

Oh, well.  So they do earthquakes in California, blizzards and ice storms in Michigan, and killer tornadoes in Kansas.  Down here, we do hurricanes.

And that will the theme for the next few days.  I’ll keep you “posted.”

