What a lovely concept! Before the Designer Gustav visited my back yard, I never imagined a patio cover with a sun roof. I can now sit on the side of my patio that’s shaded from the sun and look up through the sun roof to behold the blueness of the sky, or the whiteness of the puffy clouds, or in the dark of night, the claire de lune! The unabated sun also provides energy to dry the clothes, thus saving energy and cost. And when the patio plants need watering, I can simply leave them under the sun roof when rain is forecast, and mother nature will take care of her own. How cool!

These sun roofs are quite the vogue in Louisiana since September 2. One can see themes and variations of the concept literally from one end of the state to the other. They’re truly a la mode!

I wonder if the idea will ever catch on in Texas?

