The fall practice season ended tonight with the seventh game of the best-of-seven “World Series” intrasquad games between the purple and black teams.  The “Black Magic” team won (and that’s fine, b/c Bengal Trainer Ann was the trainer assigned to that team).

The fall “World Series” has meant long evenings at Bengal Field for over a week, to the point that I’m concerned I might be bored next week.  I suppose I should be relieved, because now I’ll have a little after-work time for myself.

Anyway, we’ll take a break from baseball now until next spring when the rtrophyeal season begins.  This year’s young, freshman-dominant group seems a far cry from the brash and scrappy bunch that won the NJCAA World Series last May, but we’ll just have to wait until spring now to see what happens.

