Last week, I posted on this blog a YouTube link to Payton and me playing  “Throw the Spoon” game.  That acitivty afforded everyone in the audience a rich diversion that afternoon, including the child’s parents, as evidenced by the laughter and good will that abounded among all present (including the child’s parents, who incidentally, by their gregarious conduct, bestowed wholehearted approbation on the proceedings.)

payton-innocentThus, I was considerably disconsolate this past weekend to learn that little Payton was reported as throwing food from her high chair in the same manner as she had cast the spoon at my house the previous Wednesday, that intelligence accompanied by subtle insinuations that I, Papa, may have been responsible for encouraging  the misbehavior, since I was the child’s mentor for Throw the Spoon game.

I quickly and roundly defended myself, of course.

First, I never introduced food (or any other object) to the spoon game we played last week.  Little Payton, as innocent as she is endearing, must have figured that behavior out on her own, or even more probable, she learned it from her parents, who are now transferring the blame to protect their own standing in the household.

Secondly, I was nowhere near the child when she exhibited this food-throwing  behavior, so to insinuate that her conduct owes to my influence bounds on the territory of preposterous.  I am innocent!

Frightfully, I am beginning to suspect in these circumstances a pattern of grandparental accusation and displaced blame that’s all too familiar as I compare notes with other grandparents.   How much easier, it seems, for our children to frame us with the responsibiilty for their youngsters’ improprieties and misbehaviors.  Why, we do nothing more than love, dote, and fawn upon the precious innocents!  How can we be rightfully accused of exerting ill influence on the child’s character or behavior?

Yay, the suggestion that I should bear any fault  for Payton’s misconduct (as if the poor little creature could misbehave in the first place!) is woefully misplaced and unreasonably assigned.  Quite the contrary, parents should accept full responsibility for training their children and be grateful (rather than critical) of grandparents, especially when parents would assign blame to the grandparents to cover the parents’ own disciplinary shortcomings.

As if precious little Payton needs discipline in the first place?

Nay, I submit, t’is not discipline the child lacks, but instruction! 

So mom and dad, get busy!  Ye have much to do.

