The title’s got you wondering, huh?mardi-gras-coullion

 It means, idiomatically “For me, it’s not Fat Tuesday, but Skinny Tuesday.”  Because, in contrast to the licentious abandon that many fellow Louisianians display in the pre-Lenten debaucherie, my Mardi Gras observance is sane, peaceful, and edifying.

While thousands of coulllions yesterday were marauding (in the guise of a parade) about the rural countryside around Eunice yesterday, scarfing beer and falling off horses and chasing crazed chickens in the traditional Cajun ritual of the season, I slept a little late, tarried a little longer over morning coffee, worked in a morning jog, and then cooked out in the back yard with the family.  The most rambunctious thing I did in the afternoon was mow my mother-in-law’s yard.

A great irony of Mardi Gras in Louisiana(that’s a little embarrassing, frankly) is that we observe an official state holiday for this event in lieu of the Memorial Day holiday that’s observed in almost every other state in the nation.   On Memorial Day, Louisianians go to work, like any other day.  On Mardi Gras, we stay home while the rest of the nation goes to work.

Does that make any sense?

Oh, well.  A day off is a day off, and since I have the freedom to celebrate Mardi Gras or Mardi Maigre, I will choose to keep mine maigre and enjoy myself all the while, in my own middle-aged, boring style!

