I remember hearing my old Sociology prof at Louisiana College, Mr. Williams, lecturing on the developmental stages of marriage.  I was 19 or 20 in those days, and this was the first time I recall hearing the term “Empty Nest” to describe the condition of a married couple who’ve just finished rearing their brood, signaled by the ascendancy of the last child into independent living away from home.

In those innocent days, I could not feature myself ever having this “empty nest.”  I wasn’t  close to being married myself, much less being a parent, so immersed was I in the halycon days of  youth and a sophomoric fascination with intellectual and academic topics.  In fact, I didn’t like the term “empty nest” as a sociological developmental phase because the term didn’t sound academic.  I found the term trite, even silly, in fact.off-to-the-big-city

But oh, how the advancing years alter one’s perspective!  Today, I stand overlooking the likelihood of my own empty nest, that reality driven home this past week as daughter Ann and her roommate-to-be Gretchen went to Baton Rouge to fill out the lease papers to move on this summer from the dozy confines of our two-year campus at LSU-E to the metropolitan  sprawl of the Mother Ship, the real Louisiana State University.  The photo shows the two young women inspecting the grounds of their soon home-to-be.

As I ponder the twenty-year old leaving home for the last two-years of college, I have to consider that she may never return permanently to reside in her childhood home.  Ergo, the possibility of the empty nest!

All of this is just sinking in these past few days, so I’m not really sure what to make of it just yet.  In a way I don’t like it.  The only immediate benefit I can think of is having ample hot water for my shower next winter, and that’s not such a big deal.  Maybe I’m recalling how I chuckled at the term “empty nesters” in Prof. Williams’ sociology class, imagining “emptpy nesters” as old gray geezers, older than even my own parents were at the time . . . so now I’m becoming an old geezer?

Alas, the sins of our youth revisit us!

