I can’t believe I spent four and a half hours in front of the TV on a summer’s eve when ordinarily I’d be out and about until dark:30 or so (between 8:30 and 9:00) doing stuff.  But the college world series championship rated enough interest, given our beloved Tigers’ involvement, so I worked my schedule around the TV viewing.

XVFUOAVQGHENAEQ.20090620012507Mikie Mahtook (pictured here courtesy of LSU baseball’s web site) was an amazing role player.  In two critical at bats, deep in the hole against the pitching, he was living proof of the maxim “Sometimes it’s better to be lucky than good.”  But then again, lucky is as lucky does, and he made his luck–or took advantage of what the competition gave him, so hat’s off to Mikie, one way or the other.  Bottom line: We won!

I recall last spring when high school senior Mahtook and his St. Thomas More Cougars came to Bengal Stadium to play our hometown St. Edmund Bluejays.  In my role as stadium announcer, I was not sure how to pronounce “Mahtook” and had to ask someone.

Today, I know who he is!

Geaux, Tigers!!

