I pirated the photo here from my niece’s blog.  (Pardon moi, Susan, but t’anks!  Your camera’s better than my smartphone, anyway.)

Rice is nice (and green)!

Rice is nice (and green)!

You see, I’ve been meaning to take a snapshot of a rice field for weeks now, every time I drive across the prairie past the fields that spread away for miles and miles across the flatness.  The fields are notable this time of year because of the rice’s ultra-verdant color.  Fields of other local crops, like soy beans and corn and sugar cane, pale alongside emerging rice’s brilliance.

In time, of course, like any other grain crop, rice turns “gold unto harvest.”   That’s a neat color, too.  After the crops are harvested, in fact, the golden stubble spreading across the flatness makes the Louisiana prairie strangely resemble Kansas.  Maybe in July and August when the farmers cut the rice, I’ll update the blog with a post “For a golder gold, rice is nice.”

