Sarah and I have seen Fezzo’s Restaurant ads and heard testimonies from our kids about how they enjoyed Fezzo’s.  Today on the way to Fezzo'sLafayette for a shopping date, we had our chance.  My eyes scanned the menu and fixated on my all-time most favorite sandwich in the whole world: oyster po’boy.

Mind you, I’m a little skeptical of po’boys away from New Orleans.  Cajun is Cajun and New Orleans is New Orleans (folks from out-of-state don’t understand what I mean), so I wondered if Fezzo’s could handle a Po’boy  as deftly as Acme Oyster House.  But I took the chance and placed my order.  After the meal, I resolved I would have to re-blog this oyster po’boy topic.

When I blogged Acme after my first visit there last year, I noted three criteria for the oyster po’boy.

1. Gotta have the right bread.

2. Gotta be big enough.

Poboy3. Gotta have enough oysters.

Let’s hold Fezzo’s to the same standard.  Here’s how Fezzo’s fared:

The bread was definitely softer than the old-time N.O. French bread with the hard crust, but it was bread.  Acme’s bread wasn’t as hard as the old-time stuff, either.  O.K., what can one say other than the bread wasn’t as crusty as the olden days?

As for big enough, the waitress looked kind of surprised when I told her I wanted a whole rather than a half, which gave me enough pause to ask if she believed I was fixing to bite off more than I could chew.   She reassured me somewhat, so I went ahead with the whole.  And believe me, it was plenty.  Equal in size to Acme, easily.

And as for enough oysters, extras and strays fell out as I manipulated the loaf to apply ketchup and Tabasco, and that’s the good sign we look for.  When the bun cannot contain the oysters, you’re getting your money’s worth!

In the final analysis, Fezzo’s stacks up!  I would get an oyster po’boy there again, and I heartily recommend the same to anyone who passes by the restaurant’s two locations along Interstate 10, one at the Scott exit and the other at the Crowley exit.  The motif and the background music are distinctly and authentically Cajun, so the ambience adds to the culinary delight.

“Feezo,” by the way, is the cajun name for a wooden sewing spool.  “Feezo” was the restaurant founder’s childhood nickname.

