Unquestionably, the largest (and most expensive)  maintenance issue any homeowner faces is roof replacement.  Unless the homeowner can afford a high-priced metal roof,  shingles have to be replaced every 15 to 25 years, depending on the quality of product.

The roof we’re replacing next week was a 25 year deal, and it lasted about 18.  The experts tell me that’s about right.  (So why do they advertise it as a 25 year roof??).  I’m going to replace it with a 35 year roof.  Maybe it will last 28 years?

I’m not happy I’ll have to shell out several thousand dollars on this project, but in some respects I’m excited.  I’ve disliked the present roof since the day I drove home and saw the roofer on the roof with his crew finishing the job.  The color of the shingles just didn’t match well with the brick siding of the house, and I wondered why that roofer didn’t counsel us better before we made that bad choice.

I was also disgruntled after the next first heavy rain that came along after that roof was put on.  Rain water came down the chimney into the attic where it found several channels to drip and trickle into the house.  (Never had that problem with the old roof!)  I called the roofer, and he showed up a little later with an indignant attitude.  “There’s nothing wrong with my roof.  That’s your chimney’s not sealed.”   And he proceeded to explain to me I needed to get some roofing cement and seal where the roof joined around the base of the chimney.  I did what he said, and it seemed to help, but I’ve fought leaks around that chimney ever since.

That was 18 years ago, and I wasn’t as sage as I am now.  If a roofer pulled that on me today, I’d have to blister him good.  What I should have told that indignant old coot 18 years ago is “Hey, buddy, I paid you over 2 thousand bucks to transfer water from my roof to the ground on the outside, not from my roof down the chimney to the inside.  Fix it, or I’ll see you in front of the judge.”

A house (not ours) with the weathered wood shingle pattern

I related that tale to the guy we hired this time, and he couldn’t believe how that old dude had behaved.  He assured me he’d take an active interest in the roof-around-the-chimney problems and that he was confident that his procedure would solve the chronic problems.

A house (not ours) with the weathered wood shingle pattern

This new roofer also counseled us on the shingle selection.  He recommended the weathered wood pattern, explained why, and took me on a drive around the neighborhood showing me several houses that had the design.

So apart from the depression over parting asunder with a significant chunk of our savings account, we’re excited.   We’ll get a roof that looks good, and hopefully, we’ll say “Goodbye” to the chimney leaks.

