A Jewish Psalm from the Old Testament proclaims God’s greatness: “He causes the clouds to rise from the ends of the earth.  He makes lighting for the rain and brings the wind from His storehouses”  (Psalms 135:7).

As I considered those words, the image of the Creole Baptist Church in Cameron Parish the morning after cameron_churchHurricane Rita made landful in 2005 came to mind.  I looked up the picture, one I blogged in 2005 and a picture I’ll keep as long as I live, one of the saddest pictures I’ve ever seen.  I posted it here for remembrance.

So what does a Psalm celebrating God’s awesome power over creation, including the fearsome elements, have to do with a church wrecked by a hurricane?  What hope endures if the world such a God created can wreak such woe and destruction?

I studied the picture this evening and I found a symbol.  As often as I’ve regarded those images, I never noticed.  But prominently presiding over the flood, firmly attached to the battered remains of the building, . . . the cross . . . a reminder: in an imperfect, fallen world where natural disasters are part of the natural order, or at times seeming disorder, I am far from hopeless.

