The yell

Fog sets in for the day in South Louisiana. Not much to see across the prairie.

I’ve always admired T. S. Eliot’s brilliant personification in the line from “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock.”  I never did get the whole poem, but that one figure of speech is awesome.

Good poetic metaphors can evoke striking sensory images and associations.  Today, for the first time in my life,  I saw Eliot’s “yellow fog.”  That’s a  significant personal marker, because I’ve lived on the oft fog-ridden Gulf Coast almost all of my life.

This photo I took today from the parking lot at LSU Eunice looks like an 8:00 or 9:00 a.m. scene we’re used to seeing this time of year.  But I shot this photo at  1:20 p.m.!

I won’t go so far as to say I’ve never seen such persistent fog so late in the day, but if I have, I don’t remember it.

