Now that this blog registers several years of accumulated material, I can  recycle posts.  I looked at what I posted this same time in 2007 and found this piece I wrote sin those days.  Crossing Lake Pontchartrain (Louisiana) last week on the way to New Orleans from the North Shore recalled images in this piece I call “Among the Waters.”  This version of the verse shows some revision from the former post, suggesting again that there may be no such thing as a “final draft” of anything I write until perhaps I’m dead!

Lake Pontchartrain spreads "among the waters" with the Causeway Bridge silhouetted in the distance.

Among the Waters

(Composed March 2007, revised ever so often since)

And God said, “Let there be a dome in the midst of the waters, and let it separate the waters from the waters.” So God made the dome and separated the waters that were under the dome from the waters that were above the dome. And it was so.
Genesis 1:6-7

Gulf’s white sand beaches,
New England’s boulder-strewn shore:
No matter,
Glory rides on wind
Swept along the face of the waters,
Tossed in noisy surf, dancing in sun and flashing by moon—
Calling to lost and darkening
Men
Seeking
The author of waters
Among the waters.

