In ’97, I was “commissioned” to write some settings for the church’s Easter musical program.  I composed the settings in blank verse.  Browsing through the portfolio this evening, I came across these previously un-published verses in four sets.  I decided to post them day by day in the coming week of this Holy season.  Here’s Part I, written to introduce “Tell Me the Old, Old Story.”

Reflections on an Old,Old Story

March 1997

W. H. Doane, composer of the music for "Tell Me the Old, Old Story"

I

My theme in glory . . . An old, old story–

The story of man’s redemption, passed on

As the rich inheritance of God’s love

From age to age, the everlasting truth,

Steadfast and uneroded by time’s vain

Assault on the bastions of eternity.

This old, old story rises even still

In misty, magical scenes of childhood

As fresh remembrance of warm summer nights

In a white church house beside a pasture

Where a gray-haired preacher–no great

scholar,

Just an earnest country prophet he was–

Called glory down from heaven’s lofty peaks,

Exhorting lost pilgrims, including me,

To stand amazed in the presence of light

That floods the darkness of souls’ hopeless night.

