If I am anyone owes much to where I’ve been

By David Pulling

Memories of New Zion Church, St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana

Composed July 2009

A family photo from early 60's from the New Zion parsonage Daddy was pastor. (I'm kneeling, first from left)

If I am anyone

Owes much to where I’ve been.

So be still a while.

Listen.

“Every head bowed, every eye closed.”

And hear the summer song 50 years ago,

After cow milkin’s done.

Sense the fragrance of sturdy folk–

Scrubbed with well water,

Groomed with Wild Root and talcum powder,

As they head over to the church house,

A neat frame building dressed in white asbestos slate.

The summer song from sturdy voices

Drifts across the pasture

From windows flung open wide

To hot July:

“Jesus saves, Jesus saves!”

If I am anyone

Owes much to where I’ve been.

