Cajuns were in this part of Acadiana in the late 1700's.

Driving along La. Hwy. 14 in coastal Vermilion Parish this morning on State business, just outside the tiny town of Erath on the way to the local high school, I came across this historical marker.  My undergraduate major was history, so things “historical” tend to grasp my attention.  And historical markers are kind of like those “ebeneezers” we read about in the bible’s Old Testament–monuments to commemorate special times and places.

So here, “the Spring.”  A late 18th century Cajun settlement in this part of the world.

Since I live in a Cajun community 40 miles north but officially designated as the “Prairie Cajun Capitol” of the world, the “southern prairie” note on the marker caught my attention.  This settlement, farther south toward the coast from where I live, was settled by Cajuns in the late 18th century.  I’m not sure that Cajuns had arrived by that time farther north, although I should do some research to confirm that.  The matter is interesting.

Note the sugar cane growing in the background.  This time of year, a month or more from harvest, the thriving cane grows tall: 8-10 feet.  Cane farmers especially eschew hurricanes, because the severe wind and rain causes the cane to lie down, making it much more difficult to harvest.

