An ugly image then as well as now. We will never forget.

Katrina struck on August 29, 2005.  On August 30 six years later, I recalled what was going on by visiting the journal I kept that year. 

Tonight on the weather news, our local meteorologist told us the new “K” storm goes by a different name, since the historic and memorable name “Katrina” is retired.  No future hurricane will bear that awful name.  Here is the entry from six years ago today:.

The day after Katrina. “Katrina.” What will that name mean to future generations on the Gulf Coast?   Sort of like Betsy and Camille, name of  Katrina will be the “Grand Dame”  of Gulf Coast hurricanes.  Seeing the water rising in New Orleans disturbs me greatly.  It’s kept me distracted all day at work to the point that I can’t focus.  “This is my Father’s world; I rest me in the thought.”  What else can I say?  Except “I rest me in the thought “ is kind of tough

