The outskirts of Arnaudville, on the verge of entering the quaint past of Louisiana bayou culture.

I was in a hurry today as I ran my work-related errands, driving from Breaux Bridge to Cecilia and back home across the Cajun Prairie from Opelousas to Eunice.  But hurry or not, I had to pull over at this point of the return to take a remembrance on the outskirts of the quaint Cajun village of Arnaudville, situated at the confluence of Bayous Fuselier and Teche in the heart of St. Landry Parish.

The  roads through Arnaudville gracefully trace the winding curves of  meandering bayou currents.  None of the roads through town are truly main roads, because no business comes through out-of-the-way Arnaudville on the way to anywhere else.  Perhaps that’s the charm of the community–a place lost in time, preserving the bayou culture of bygone days with the Rexall drug store right across Bayou Fuselier on the way into the heart of town where the spire of the local Catholic church presides over the downtown scene.

I hope I’ll always have time to pause on the way through small-town, out-of-the-way places like Arnaudville.  Life is too short to do otherwise.

