With the Balfa Brothers blaring vintage 1960’s Cajun music through the AUX system, as I eased up to this stop at the end of Castille Highway before me and my pick-up turned left to go into Branch, Louisiana, following Cajun backroads on the way home from a root canal appointment in Lafayette (of all reasons to be on the road), I realized the scene before me at this stop sign was iconic.  I took a picture to save the moment.

Turn left to go to Branch, right to Higginbotham: Homey placenames of the Cajun prairie

Turn left to go to Branch, right to Higginbotham: Homey place names of the Cajun prairie

Icon 1: The prairie, flat and spreading far away.

Icon 2: The boot-shaped secondary highway markers: the higher the highway number in this State, the more likely that it’s a road to nowhere important.  Such is the case for these shoulderless, asphalt ribbons with 4-digit numbers that wind and bump to obscure destinations such as Branch and Higginbotham and Mire.

Icon 3: Beyond the striped warning signs and the two-headed arrow screaming “right or left,” behold a good reason for the warning: He who misses the stop or the turn ends up in a flooded crawfish pond just the other side of a relatively shallow ditch!

I pass this cross-road coming and going, year in and year out, without thought.  Today, it just sort of struck me–one of those epiphanies of place.  Maybe it was the Balfa Brothers lyrics I had just heard, extolling memory of “le jolie temp passe'” that prompted this morning’s epiphany.

