Ah, caffeine: Awake, my soul, and sing!

Ah, caffeine: Awake, my soul, and sing!

On the back of a flier promoting the Lafayette High School Russian Educ/Cultural Exchange, March/April 1993, I found the following sets of scribbles, no doubt the brainchildren of a pre-writing exercise I practiced with a writing class. Context, I recall not, but somehow, the subject was coffee. I share them as artifacts of imagination, not sure today as I was not sure then which (if any) are/were suitable for publication.

Scribble 1

Caffeine kick
Opens my eyes
Frees the senses
For an
English teacher’s
Every morning

Scribble 2

Inky
black
sepia
java juice
aromatic nuggets, ground and brewed
Hand-picked by Juan Valdez
Good to the last drop
Ca c’est du bon cafe, ouai!

Scribble 3

Inky black
sepiatic fluid
java juice
brewed
from ground aromatic
kernels
hand-picked by Juan Valdez
the best part of waking up
Good to the last drop
Ca c’est du bon cafe, ouai!

