D. C.'s in Eunice, Louisiana serves a memorable plate of oysters and sweet potato fries.

D. C.’s in Eunice, Louisiana serves a memorable plate of oysters and sweet potato fries.

On July 25, 2012, I recorded my resolve to have fried oysters for my birthday at a different restaurant every year from then until infirmity (or worse) dictates the end. So today was year 2, and I honored the commitment by having fried oysters and sweet potato fries at D.C.’s Cajun Steakhouse and Sports Bar here in the home town. A few weeks ago, I was thinking of going somewhere more exotic–to Lafayette or Baton Rouge–but for a variety of reasons, sticking with a home town venue turned out the most pragmatic. As it turns out, pragmatic is not synonymous with boring or disappointing–D.C.’s right here in grande Eunice (Yoo-neece) served up a quality plate as good as I could imagine having anywhere. And as a connoisseur and lifelong Louisiana seafood consumer, I know fried oysters!

And yes, Sarah Ann was my date, the same one as last year and hopefully the same one for next year and many more to come.

So let the blog keep the record:
2012 Fezzo’s Restaurant in Scott, La.
2013 D.C.’s in Eunice, La.
2014 Lord willing, we’ll see!

