Bobby and Deke gladden the evenings in this football season of the year.

Bobby and Deke gladden the evenings in this football season of the year.

I posted a few weeks ago about the rhythm of work in education, how the early weeks of the fall semester provide exciting times of new beginnings. As an administrator, those days also provide long and stressful days that aren’t so exciting.

So what’s the elixir of stress relief at the end of a long and trying day? It’s nothing I drink! Instead, I listen to Sports Talk on WWL Radio from New Orleans. Mostly Saints and LSU football dominates the conversation this time of year. I typically tune in as soon as I leave the office at 4:30.

I downloaded the WWL app on my phone, so whatever activity I do after work, jogging or bike riding or mowing grass or just about anything else, I plug in the ear buds and listen, often until the show goes off at 8:00.

In this most stressful season of the year, the daily banter of my WWL boys provides catharsis, a post-work balm and cleansing for the over-taxed mind.

Geaux, Saints, Geaux, Tigers. Geaux, WWL.

