If I ran a theme-tracker on personal blog and social media posts over the past year, blue Monday would run a strong race as the most persistent. Sunday evenings on many weekends, in fact, the Psalmist’s lament fits my mood:

“For the waters have come up to my neck. I sink in deep mire where there is no foothold; I have come into deep waters, and the flood sweeps over me. I am weary with my crying out: my throat is parched. My eyes grow dim with waiting for [the next weekend.]” (From Psalms 69)

Few circumstances enable me to walk into Monday mornings with a lively gait or a cheerful spirit (toward the tedium of administrative workplace muck, that is–other regions of my being are more balanced and pleasant, thank God!). A week shortened by holiday or annual leave is one such circumstance. So are the more laid-back week-beginnings in inter-semester times when the quiet of the campus provides a balm for the nerves.

Tigers win, Monday loses.

Tigers win, Monday loses.

Drew Triumphant dispells Monday's gloom.

Drew Triumphant dispells Monday’s gloom.

But truthfully, no blue-Monday antidote is more effective in the fall of the year than LSU and Saints football success.
And so far in 2013, September Mondays are going pretty well, with favorite teams undefeated and atop their respective worlds.

Awakening Monday morning with the weekend’s victories still glowing in memory, the good humor of Saturday night and Sunday afternoon glimmers yet on Monday morning, aided and abetted by the promise of upbeat Sports Talk on the after-work WWL radio show that hashes and re-hashes the teams’ respective causes for celebration, and also keeping alive the good feelings of the weekend.

With workplace sanity and happiness at stake, may the Tigers and Saints continue to win: Otherwise, life is too short for the tyranny of blue Monday.

