My late Uncle Jack was a folk philosopher, a spinner of homey aphorisms. He was the author, indeed, of such immortal lines as, “Love makes the world go ’round, but money’s the grease that turns the axle.” (Being from down in the Parish, of course, Uncle Jack’s turns came out toins).

Daughter Ann and her beau, Brandon: What cute puppies!

Daughter Ann and her beau, Brandon: What cute puppies!

"Bad puppy dawg" Zach and his sweetheart, Trisha

“Bad puppy dawg” Zach and his sweetheart, Trisha

But another fond recollection that rests with me was his observation on family and progeny. He was proud of his own kids, of course, as he was proud of his nieces and nephews. He articulated a doggy analogy to explain the genetic phenomenon: “Cute dogs make cute puppies.” In other words, attractive parents produce attractive offspring.

I thought of Uncle Jack this evening as I regarded my own kids and their companions. I know that looks really don’t matter in eternity, but as humans let’s admit we’re programmed that way… and as parents, we’re proud of the byproducts of our loins, those “cute puppies” descended from our collective gene pools.

