This bloke was  spared the instanteous fate of road kill: He was taken live as a future entree on the dinner table.

This bloke was spared the instanteous fate of road kill: He was taken live as a future entree on the dinner table.

Cross the highway at your own peril, Louisiana wildlife!

A deer flashed across Hwy. 14 right in front of me yesterday afternoon in broad daylight between Abbeville and Kaplan. It was a narrow miss, but He got away with it. Wish I had a picture, but it happened so fast that I didn’t even have time to react by taking my foot off the accelerator or braking. My first impulse was that it was a huge dog bounding out of the ditch and across the roadway, but when I saw the creature athletically and majestically launch himself across a deep and wide ditch on the other side, I knew the truth: This was no dog!

Now the unlucky turtle shown here wasn’t as fleet afoot crossing the South La. Highway not many miles from where my deer got away. Poor turtle was bagged by my neighbor Mike, who took the time to pull over and nab the fellow as he ambled across the highway. Mike’s intention is to serve him up for supper in a turtle sauce piquante. I asked the turtle to smile for the pic, but his response was snapping and hissing–evidently, he was in a bad humor.

