The day of the week that comes too often and lasts too long.

The day of the week that comes too often and lasts too long.

A lune, you say? Something I just learned this morning when I read my National Writing Project colleague’s blog post. A lune is a creative form for 3-line verses composed in syllable groupings of 5-3-5. Learn more about the form by visiting my colleague’s blog, linked here.
After I read up on it and rolled some ideas around in idle moments of distraction this afternoon, I settled on thoughts for Monday, my most despised day of the week. Here’s Monday’s Lune:

eight o’clock Monday,
a mean time.
Four o’clock, mellow.

Writing such compact ditties could become addictive, since days and hours are so filled with work and duty that the long periods of mental freedom required for longer composition just aren’t there.

