Counting rooms and offices I’ve worked in over the past 28 years in public education, most of my places have been window-less, providing uninspiring views of nothing more beyond the exit than a door-sized view of an interior hallway or an adjoining office or lobby.

That’s why I’m pleased in these last couple of years preceding retirement. In my final months, I have an office with three windows opening views to acres of outdoor green and blue skies overhead. I find that I need such a view in these final years to provide the inspiration needed to hold the course and make it to that end-of-July 2015 goal.

You see, the closer that “R” day comes, the more difficult concentration grows. So in those moments of tedium and distraction, this open view beyond the confining cinder block walls provides mind and soul liberation from malaise. I assure myself in those moments, “Yes, I can do this for 14 more months.”

Thank God for the view!

A corner view covers the north and east beyond the confining office walls.

A corner view covers the north and east beyond the confining office walls.

