Ellie Mae rulz.  What a sweetheart!

Ellie Mae rulz. What a sweetheart!

When I was in 8th/9th grade, summers at home were boring. Except for the first 2 or 3 hours of the morning when me and my sister and brother would watch the syndicated re-runs of I Love Lucy, Andy Griffith, and The Beverly Hillbillies.

What a rich time it was, then, last night, to visit with Donna Douglas, the actress who played Ellie Mae on the Hillbillies. The 81 year old TV icon came to promote our lifelong learning group’s membership renewal effort, but she left us so much more than a PR splash. Her presentation was the story of her life from rural Louisiana to New York to Hollywood, a story punctuated by faith and values.

At the end of this day, I’m blessed and honored to have met Ms. Douglas. No celebrity I’ve ever known was more patient with adorers, more gracious, more humble, and more delightful than she. Her talk was inspirational–Many “amen”-able moments!

