The first day of this work week was dread Monday, but out of kindness to my friends, I didn’t post another negative “I hate Monday” message lest anyone accuse me of having a bad attitude. My reward: That Monday was the Monday from Hell! I’d have to go back to January or February of this year to recall a Monday so raw and disconcerting. As a result, henceforward, I will never hold back on denouncing Monday for the evil that Monday is to those who rise for work on this darkening day of the week.

Boast not, Blue Monday: Your days (and your daze!) are numbered.

Boast not, Blue Monday: Your days (and your daze!) are numbered.

In fact, for the balance of this phase of my career in public education ending a year from now, I will no longer call Monday by its proper name: Those first-days shall be henceforth known as V-Daze, the “V” standing for vituperation, and the homophonic daze more aptly descriptive of the mental condition that workday Mondays evoke than regular days.

In the end, I resolve to pronounce no kind utterance toward the first day of the work week for the next year, save when those days fall on holidays or vacations. Enough said!

