Over the years, I’ve posted pix of quaint, rural grocery stores that dot the Cajun countryside.  Most of them are no longer open, though, recalling former posts  about the Octave Fontenot store at Prairie Ronde and Sibille Brothers Grocery in the Bristol

Breaux's Grocery: A throwback to the retail past of the Cajun prairie.

Breaux’s Grocery: A throwback to the retail past of the Cajun prairie.

Community.  Those buildings still stand, but the groceries are no longer in business.

Not so Breaux’s Grocery in the Leroy community on Hwy. 699 in Vermilion Parish. The store is very open, advertising the coldest beer, hottest boudin, and best sandwiches on the marquis.  I couldn’t stop to go in since I was on business, but I hope one day to get back to Leroy to see how the store looks and feels on the inside.  I’m sure it’s an establishment with a strong Cajun accent, steeped in the fragrance of smoked meat and steamy boudin.

