The case for their virtue rests solidly on a biblical injunction from the Old Testament Book of Deuteronomy:

“Thou shalt not bring the hire of a whore , or the price of a dog, into the house of the LORD thy God for any vow: for even both these are abomination unto the LORD thy God.”

I have no idea what the “hire of a whore” has in common with “the price of a dog,” but it’s irrelevant in the case of Sadie and Marley because they have no price. And no, not because they’re not for sale, but because they’re worthless. I’d sooner have to pay somebody to take them off my hand than somebody would offer to give me as much as a nickel a piece for them.

Worthless dogs keep their owners free from committing sinful abomination!

Worthless dogs keep their owners free from committing sinful abomination!

So, biblically speaking, their worthlessness works in the household’s favor, because if I can’t sell them for a price, then I will never have proceeds of a sale to bring into the house of the Lord. Simply, if I can’t sell them, then I’m in no danger of plopping a few dollars of doggie sale proceeds into the church collection plate.

No price of a dog = no abomination unto God.

What a blessing is the worthlessness of our dogs!

