The campus is quiet for the last class on the last day of the last semester.

The campus is quiet for the last class on the last day of the last semester.

The sentiment expressed in the title settled in my thoughts this morning as I walked across campus on this sparkling spring day, the last day of classes for the 2015 spring semester. Not counting the summer session, today marks the last of the last!

I recall the years I first started teaching in public school when May’s advent portended the end of the school year. The strain, travail, and stress of the previous eight months waned and faded in the anticipation of an end to things. In that season every year, I started feeling an endorphic euphoria as the release of school year’s conclusion approached.

When I moved into higher education as an administrator in 1997, the end-of-year euphoria vanished as May blended seamlessly into June, June into July, July into August, and so on. No ends in sight.

Until now. The end is not quite as close as the first of June, because I have two months, three weeks, and 5 days into the summer to go. Nonetheless, this last class of the last day of the last semester feels like 25 years ago when the end of a school year really was an ending.

The end.

