At the corner of happy and holy.

At the corner of happy and holy.

I took the pastor’s sermon on marriage to heart Sunday afternoon. Preaching a sermon on Genesis 2 and the purpose men and women were created for one another in the idyllic beginning, he advanced a compelling assertion of the side-by-side equality of man and woman in matrimony, the notion that each owes to act selflessly in the regard for and consideration of the other. The point was well-made, and a charge ensued as an admonition: Within the next 72 hours, each married partner in the congregation should offer some truly sacrificial act of giving to the other as a living and personal illustration of the message.

Mission accomplished! On the way home from Laffy that afternoon I asked Sarah if she’d Iike to stop at Walgreens. She knows I loathe stopping at Walgreens on the way home, because like most men, once I set the course for home, I’m headed for the house. The destination becomes a matter of mission and determination. But she, like most women, usually wants to stop and smell  roses along the way . . . well, not so much roses as cosmetics and beauty aids and all the other frilly stuff at Walgreens.

So in my mind, by offering to stop without her asking, I’m off the hook for upholding my end of the sermonic obligation. And I even refrained from rolling my eyes or moaning when she accepted the offer to stop. And I never fidgeted or paced or acted impatiently the whole time we were in the store. Someone try to tell me that’s not agape love!

OK, Sarah, for my obligation, CHECK. The ball’s in your court for your selfless act toward me—-48 or so hours left and the clock is ticking.

