I think I’ve stolen a post title that I already used, but so what? Our retirement/birthday weekend celebration trip to Covington to ride the Tammany Trace and revisit childhood scenes as a tourist was highly fulfilling. It was just a weekend trip, but it was characterized by an intense 48 hour period of doing whatever we felt like doing. I can keep that kind of intensity up for a long time!

This trip was really liberating, too, in that the following Monday, I would not return to that pressure-cooker job I just retired from Friday past. That sense of release set this vacation outing apart from all others as long as we’ve been married, because every other vacation ended with the regrettable, lamentable letdown at the end: gotta return to the grind on Monday! Ugh. Not so this weekend. The entire time, I kept figuratively pinching myself, almost gloating, “I don’t have to go to work at LSUE Monday. Or any day!”

We also felt a sense of athletic achievement as we rode from Covington to Mandeville and back, over 26 miles round trip. Serious cyclists would regard that outing as a light workout, but for us, it was more than triple the length of our normal recreational rides. The advancing years notwithstanding, we made the scenic trip and came back in pretty good shape, memories abounding with the resolve to do it again, except maybe more next time.

A deep piney woods moment just outside of Mandeville along the scenic Tammany Trace.  Sure beats work!

A deep piney woods moment just outside of Mandeville along the scenic Tammany Trace. Sure beats work!

