The back-to-school faculty/staff retreat at St. Edmund this morning was refreshing. Fr. Abadie’s articulate and stirring presentation of The Soul of the Apostolate was as studied as it was inspirational. Blessing and devotion abounded in his devotional.

The highight of the morning was the 30 minute dismissal to meditate. I retreated to the shaded grounds of the church across the street from our meeting hall and found special favor in the spot over which this statue of the Master presides. IMG_0094

Fanny Crosby’s inspired lyrics came to mind:

“I am thine, O Lord, I have heard thy voice.
And it told thy love to me.
Yet I long to rise in the arms of faith
And be closer drawn to thee.”

It was a confirming moment of devotion, an affirmation of God’s call.

There’s Kingdom work (teaching!) to be done!

