Before I did some research this afternoon, I assumed el cinco de Mayo had something to do with my Hispanic heritage, since my grandmother’s ancestry hails from the European motherland of Espana.  I longed for a personal cultural connection to celebrate.

But as I looked it up, Cinco de Mayo is a Mexican holiday, celebr

340px-Cinco_de_Mayo,_1901_poster

The Mexican army defeated the French in the Battle of Puebla.  Hmmm…. little interest to me personally, but a good enough reason for a party.

ating a victory of the Mexican army over French forces in 1862.  Mi abuela was from Spain, not Mexico.  She spoke the more sophisticated Castillian Spanish, not Tex-Mex!

My undergraduate degree is in history, but I confess that this one blew right by me: the French in conflict with Mexicans in the New World?  I suppose we Americans were too immersed in our own Civil War in 1862 to notice.

Anyway, best wishes to all for a happy Cinco de Mayo.

