I’ve observed over the years that vacation is the natural state of man.  And today, for the first time in 19 years after leaving the administrative grind of higher education last August, I am confronted with the start of an authentic school teacher’s summer vacation: those three proverbial “best reasons” to be a teacher: June, July,

patiociwq

Patio View: My “Office” for the next two and a half months.

and August.

The vacation is less than an hour old as I draft this post.  So far, the sensation is totally natural.  And I am confident that this sense of liberation will continue growing in the “daze” to come.

Sure, the vacation will end next August, and time will likely pass more quickly than I’d like.  But I’ll worry about that a couple of months from now.  Today, we celebrate.

 

