IMG_0841.PNG

 I ALWAYS  keep an umbrella handy in the back seat.

 

To weather forecasters on the air, a plea to abandon a tired cliche heard ad nauseum whenever rainy weather is forecast:

PLEASE REFRAIN FROM REMINDING ME TO “KEEP THE UMBRELLA HANDY!”

I’ve heard that tired, unimaginative admonition all my life on weather casts.  So often, it goes like this morning, as I watched the network news for an hour or so. The local met came on the air every fifteen minutes, repeating the same forecast.  And each time she got to the rain possibility, as if she were following a script, the cliche came bubbling out: “Better keep that umbrella handy.”

Why can’t forecasters  find anything more interesting  to utter than what’s become an inane  cliche?

Gollee, after all!  I’ve got enough sense to know to carry an umbrella if rain is forecast.  Just tell me it’s going to rain, and I’ll figure out the rest.

OK?

Thanks.

