Sneezing, snotting, coughing, snorting, sleepless nights: Enough!

th

Nothing works!

A doctor’s visit three days ago  provided  no relief for a viral affliction that is so far impervious to the pharmaceutical advances of modern medicine.  Antihistamines are impotent; the body’s mucous-producing power overwhelms the prescribed decongestants with an ever-oozing flow of sludgy snot; the dry-as-dust, nagging cough  mocks  the efficacy of the most renowned suppressants and expectorants.

I thought it was just “me,”  but when I went to the pharmacy this morning, the friendly lady behind the counter chuckled when I explained to the pharmacist that the doctor’s remedies were not working.  She told me, “Oh, yes, that’s what’s going around now.  Everybody who comes in tells us the same thing: nothing works.”

Hearing that didn’t make me feel any better.  Mother Nature, as usual, is just having her way, and there’s not much I can do about it except sneeze, snot, cough, snort, and toss and turn at night.

 

