IMG_1008

Our recently-enlarged patio provides the most suitable summer office space for the business at hand.

School ended officially a week ago, so I’ve had several days this week to establish a summer routine.  I’ve decided to keep unofficial office hours (unofficial since I will not feel obligated to keep them if I ever feel like it).

Except for inclement weather or oppressive heat/humidity, the patio living space will serve as the office.  Here’s the weekday routine:

6:30 or 7:00 until 8:00 or 8:30: Coffee/TV news time.

8:00 or 8:30-9:00 or 9:30: Out-of-office for jogging.

9:30 or so until noonish: Outdoor chores.

Noonish until 7:00ish: Out of office.

7:00ish and/or until mosquitoes come out: Evening office hours.

That routine is subject to unannounced daily or even momentary variations and deviations, of course.  This is summer vacation, and my job now is to tend most joyfully and seriously to the business of doing what I want when I want, insofar as those wants coincide with the interests of the household.

