Coronaviris days grow long and weird, so we may as well smile when we can.

IMG_0627To that end, as we “attended” our church’s virtual service on the patio this morning, watching the Wisteria bloom and the critters that scampered, fluttered, and skittered among the branches and along the hedge, I remembered a poem Emily Dickinson wrote about [not] going to church:

“Some keep the sabbath going to church– / I keep it, staying at Home.”

Well, this day, owing to the marvels of technology, we did both!  And appearing among the congregants were Cardinals, Blue Jays, a Mourning Dove, several squirrels, and Marley the Dog.

I don’t think I’ll ever grow fonder of this arrangement than actually gathering with friends and loved ones for church, a habit I’ve practiced with regularity beginning about nine months before I was born, but this temporary normal will have to suffice in this season.  So we’re grateful for what we have, even as the creatures’ participation added a rare and entertaining dimension to the experience..