I received the following thank you note from a student for whom I composed a letter of recommendation to support her application to the Honors College. I’ve posted student expressions like this over the years to preserve these most authentic expressions of appreciation that I ever receive from students. These students remind me that this craft of teaching, this vocational profession, is indeed a holy calling! Here’s what Reagan wrote:

Good afternoon Professor Pulling,
Thank you for your thoughtful and supportive letter! This recommendation means a great deal to me, and I am so glad you were able to recommend me. Everything looks well written, organized, very kind, and greatly helpful. However, I am not surprised because you are an excellent writer with abundant wisdom and experience, which makes you an awesome and knowledgeable professor. Again, I genuinely appreciate the time you took to write me a letter of recommendation, thank you very much!

All best, Reagan