appleA few semesters ago, I started an end-of-semester tradition of asking my students to post a reflection on their learning experience in my class, focused on what they imagine they will remember about this course fifty years hence.  I don’t know if I could have imagined fifty years hence when I was nineteen, so I appreciate their willingness to tackle this assignment.  Below are some “humble rewards” highlights from this semester’s responses to the prompt.

I am a bit sad because I enjoyed this class and Professor Pulling. The material was enjoyable and a good level of challenging and new for me. I had fun and this is one of my favorite classes in college so far.

In 50 years, I believe that I will remember learning about punctuation and how to write a paragraph using the actual MLA format. I think that I will also remember how caring Mr. Pulling was and how he always tried to keep the class engaged. Hopefully, I remember other things that we learned in class but I can barley remember some of the things I learned last semester so fingers crossed.

It’s difficult to say what I’ll remember when i am 68 years old. For all I know, I could barely remember my own name! However, I will try in the spirit of conjecture. I think in 50 years from now, I’ll remember the strategic methods of injecting life into my writing. Professor Pulling always had magnificent examples of how to take a bland, lifeless sentence, into one blossoming with personality.

I think I will most definetly remember my professor Prof. Pulling. Choosing Prof. Pulling as my professor is what made me motivated to write and to actually want to come to class. If anyone asks me about college English freshman year, I will definetly remember him. His wit, his intelligence, his story telling, and his inspiration he has given me to want to learn more. I think I will also remember getting to write about interesting topics that I have never written about, and I will definetly using the flesh-kincaid calculator in the future!