ecrivisseWhat does one expect living in the Prairie Cajun Capital of Eunice, Louisiana?  This is a Cajun place!  But this weekend, the experience went hard core, even for me the native Louisianian.

Between the local Writing Project site’s leadership retreat Au Bayou Teche in Breaux Bridge Friday night and most of Saturday, followed by the church choir’s annual crawfish boil Saturday afternoon, my palate has been amply delighted.

Friday night for supper, Oysters Bienville and pan-blackened Redfish topped with crawfish etouffe; Saturday for lunch, an oyster po-boy; Saturday for supper, boiled crawfish.

I may not need to eat for a while.

The retreat in Breaux Bridge was set at an antique B&B on the bayou.  I commemorated a moment of solitude there with a few short lines of verse, recalling the familiar lyrics “Streams of mercy, never ceasing / call for songs of loudest praise . . .

bayou-teche

Bayou Teche eddies and ripples by,

like cafe’ au lait warmed by the morning sun,

gently stirred by a green spring breeze.


During all this time, I also continued working some of the rust out of my Cajun musical skills, cranking l’accordeon both along the Bayou and later at the crawfish boil, to the seeming agreement of my friends (who’d rather hear me play than sing, perhaps).

accordeoniste