Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor's donkey.My men’s bible study class took up a lesson today on the Ten Commandments.  One Commandment reads thus:

“You shall not covet your neighbor’s house; you shall not covet your neighbor’s wife or his male servant or his female servant or his ox or his donkey or anything that belongs to your neighbor.”

I was making the facetious point to the class that I didn’t have a sin problem with coveting anyone’s donkeys–the Commandment, after all, is a little dated.  Who has donkeys any more, right?  I thought I was illustrating the point safely that obeying some Commandments involves less commitment than others, but that was no excuse for breast-beating self-righteousness.

But guess what?

One of the guys, a high school agriculture teacher who lives in the country, laughed, exclaiming, “But I have a donkey.”

“Whoa!” I roared.  “How many Sunday School teachers teaching this standardized lesson across the national denomination could claim he had a class mate who owns a donkey!”

And no sooner than I uttered that exclamation, another member of the class started laughing:  “I have a donkey, too.”

OK, seriously, I want to know: How many Sunday School teachers across the land can claim he has two class mates who own donkeys?

Only in Louisiana, I suspect.  At any rate, reader, heed the commandment: “Keep thy covetous eyeballs off of Randy’s and Greg’s donkeys, lest ye sin!”  Who says God’s writ is not timeless?