Seeing storm debris stacked along city streets for block after block during these past six weeks of “hurricane daze,” I recalled those days of yore when we used our fire  place.  Hurricanes were the most prolific purveyor of easy-to-get firewood imaginable, so after work those days, I’d load the chainsaw in the truck and cruise the woodpiles to gather up all of that free wood.

IMG_0820We abandoned the fireplace 5 or 6 years ago, and I never really missed it.  I’m getting to the age I don’t need that kind of exertion.  But seeing the piles of wood this past week gave me some pangs of nostalgia, especially now that I’ve got a truck again. 

So we bought a fire pit at Lowe’s a couple of days ago in anticipation of this first fall breeze of the season.  Then yesterday, we rounded up a few armloads of storm debris lying around the alley.  Today, I struck the match on the fire pit and “Voila!”

Not just like the old days but sufficiently  reminiscent.